Breakfast

Saffron Oatmeal with Blueberry Sauce

Breakfast never before equated oatmeal for me. In India, this trend hasn’t caught up yet, so growing up I had whole another range of food that I called (and still call) breakfast. After I moved here, my breakfast has moved from black coffee-Nutella sandwich to glass of milk with banana and whole lot of other stuff in between. Since I started running this year, I wake up hungry most days, so appetite killer black coffee wasn’t an option and glass of milk with banana was still not filling enough.

Enter oatmeal. So many people eat this daily, runners world over recommend it, good source of fiber AND naturally high in iron, it was almost like, what took me sooo long to try it??

DSC_0082-3

I think for me, part of the problem was it can be so bland.. Eating it as is was out of the question. Sold on its benefits though, I was looking for some color addition along with an unconventional taste. Enter saffron!!  Saffron certainly isn’t new to an Indian kitchen, but most European and Asian homes would find many uses of this exotic spice. With rather unexpected spicy flavor and color that rivals hues of sunset, saffron fascinates me every-single-time I use it. It’s medicinal properties are only being researched now- there are potential anti-cancer, anti-mutations, immune boosting properties that this modest spice promises.

DSC_0078

SO saffron- check. I also love blueberries.. A lot!! I had a bunch of fresh ones at hand too! All of this meant that I totally go for this rather strange sounding combination. I added a dash of honey to this to make this a bit sweeter than what blueberries can naturally provide. Overall, it was great, filling, super healthy and quick breakfast! I would highly recommend you try it and don’t shy on saffron amount. This little thing has brilliant flavors and they really stand out when used in sufficient quantities. Hope you enjoy my little adventure with oatmeal.

DSC_0080Your Map to Saffron Oatmeal with Blueberry Sauce

Author: Minty Chai

Serves: 1-2

Total time: 15 minutes

Ingredients

  1. 1 cup rolled oats
  2. 3 cups of water
  3. handful blueberries- sliced in half
  4. 2 pinches of saffron
  5. 1 tablespoon honey

Instructions

  1. Boil oats in 2 cups of water until they soften. Add more water if necessary to get desired consistency. Blend honey into oatmeal completely.
  2. In a saucepan, add 1/2 cup of water and blueberries. Simmer at low to medium heat and stir until blueberries mesh together and form thick paste. Add more water if necessary.
  3. Add saffron and blueberry sauce to the oatmeal. Enjoy your warm breakfast.
Leave a Reply

