Appetizers

Vangyache Kaap (Crispy Eggplant Chips)


DSC_0099

Let me introduce you to this traditional delicious eggplant recipe from Western India. We ate this with spicy ketchup. I had such a craving for this, that I made these on a whim and I only had regular ketchup. But fear-not I told myself, out came sriracha. A couple squeezes of that into the regular ketchup, a quick dash of mustard and behold, spicy ketchup was ready! You can totally use regular ketchup, that tastes pretty good too.

I have seen some recipes of this or similar dish which call for shallow frying. That much oil is unnecessary in my opinion. I only used a couple of tablespoons of oil and flipped the eggplant a couple times to get even cooking. And the best part? You can make this in about 30 minutes. Yes- no more than half hour!!

DSC_0095

This is the version of chips I ate when I was a child. In part because my brother really liked them and part because that’s the only way how I would eat eggplant back then. Well, I was a strange child I guess. Oh wait, being picky about your vegetables is your right as a child. Err.. right? So I did exercise it. Quite a bit as my mother would tell you. But eventually she did a fantastic job. Adult me likes all vegetables and I L-O-V-E eggplant. It’s totally my favorite go-to when I am looking for change of flavor, which is umm, quite frequently. So needless to say I am a fan of middle eastern food. Mouth watering baba- ganoush! O-M-G.

DSC_0096

Anyway, not stretching the post any further, I present you the eggplant crisps recipe, as my mom makes it!

By the way, in case you are wondering vangyache kaap are two Marathi words and they mean: Vanga- eggplant and Kaap- cuts! Circular shape of the cut eggplant is implied here.

Your Map to Eggplant Crisps:

Author: Minty Chai

Serves: 4

Ingredients

  1. 1 small eggplant (look for slender one so all chips can be of same size)
  2. 2 cups of water
  3. 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  4. 1/2 cup rice flour
  5. 3 tablespoons ground flax seeds (optional)
  6. 1 teaspoon Chili powder (optional)
  7.  1/2 teaspoon asafoetida
  8. 2-3 tablespoon oil
  9. salt to taste
  10. cilantro
  11. ketchup

Instructions

  1. Chop the eggplant into thin disks. Keep them submerged in a bowl of water to avoid their blackening.
  2. In a bowl, mix all the flour together. Add in a dash of health, get some much-needed good fats by adding freshly ground flax seeds. This step is totally optional and my variation to this recipe. You can get great taste to your dish without flax seeds for sure.
  3. Add asafoetida, chili powder and salt. Mix everything together well.
  4. Take out the eggplant disks from water, soak the excess water out on a paper napkin or a clean towel. Dip the disk in the bowl of flour and get a thin even coat of flour on both sides.
  5. Heat the pan on medium heat, spread about 1 tablespoon oil evenly on it. Place a few disks on the pan and cook covered for a couple of minutes. Remove the lid, flip the disks and cook covered again for another minute or so. Remove them from heat when the flour is no longer raw and disks begin to turn golden brown.
  6. Your chips are now ready. Garnish with cilantro and serve hot.
6 thoughts on “Vangyache Kaap (Crispy Eggplant Chips)

  1. A small tip…prick the disks of eggplant with a fork,before dipping it in the flour…this helps the kaaps to get cooked evenly, with the help of moisture inside the eggplant.

    Like

Leave a Reply

